General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

New Fit, used fit, or used Nissan Versa for a Rookie Driver?

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2012, 02:58 PM
New Fit, used fit, or used Nissan Versa for a Rookie Driver?

I got my license early this year and I'm in my early 30's. Never really needed to drive until I recently moved to Hawaii (Oahu) for a new job. So I'm a real rookie driver and I still become anxious by the thought of driving.

Now I need to buy a car and I've been looking at compact, fuel efficient cars. And Honda Fit looks perfect to me - except the supply of it is limited in this island and so they are pricey both used and new.

Now, since I'm a rookie driver, I'm hesitant to buy a brand new Fit, but used ones with low mileage are not much cheaper than new ones.

So I don't know what would be the wisest thing to do. I really like Fit and I hear nothing but good things about them.

On a side note, I see that Nissan Versas from 2011 are selling for 11K+ and I wonder whether as a Rookie, Honda Fit is too luxurious and maybe I should just go with Versa? But I've also heard negative comments about Nissan's performance/quality... Are they that bad??

My budget for my first car is about a little over 10K. Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited by OAHU_ROOKIE; 12-20-2012 at 03:43 PM.
Old 12-20-2012, 03:00 PM
1992 Toyota Corolla 5 speed. Sell it in a year after you've had more seat time and get a Fit.

Old 12-20-2012, 03:20 PM
Repairs and fuel are costly in the islands. What counts is reliability and fuel efficiency. The Fit scores high in both areas and includes the added benefit of high resale value. If you remain in the islands, you may never require another vehicle and if you move, you'll get a good price.

Aloha!

Old 12-20-2012, 09:13 PM
5 Year Member