General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Honda Certified Vehicle - good idea?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 03:20 AM
Honda Certified Vehicle - good idea?

Hi! After coveting a Fit for several years, I am finally planning on getting one! While I would love to just buy a new car, I am a student and a thrifty person so am very hesitant to go that route. What do ya'll think about Honda Certified Vehicles? Good idea? Safe idea? I know NOTHING about cars and am super nervous about making a poor choice. There is a 2008 MT LX with 21,619km for 13,799. Is that a good deal? (I am in British Columbia, Canada).

Other question - should I be suspicious that the car has so few kms? I looked at the Carfax report and it says that it was always registered in a small town so maybe that explains that?

Thank you for your advice!

Old 06-20-2012, 10:24 PM
5 Year Member
So in my view, buying a certified used car is generally fine. They go through a inspection process, anything that doesn't pass Honda doesn't want to resell under their brand and they get sold to a general used-car dealer. Often, the certified used car comes with a better warranty than new!

Having said all that, currently the used car market is quite hot and especially for high-resale-value cars. You might find used Hondas sell for near new.

Last, I'm talking about the US market. Any of those things could be different in Canada as it is, of course, a separate country Good luck.

Old 06-22-2012, 01:45 AM
Thanks for the input. I test-drove a 2012 today and i think I am going to go with the 2008. :-)

Old 06-22-2012, 05:00 AM
Originally Posted by fujisawa
So in my view, buying a certified used car is generally fine. They go through a inspection process, anything that doesn't pass Honda doesn't want to resell under their brand and they get sold to a general used-car dealer. Often, the certified used car comes with a better warranty than new!