General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Long-term test drive? How did you know the Fit was right for you?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 08:06 PM
AJP
Long-term test drive? How did you know the Fit was right for you?

I'm finally ready to retire my '94 Accord (which is still trucking along!) Went to the Honda dealership and became quite interested in the Fit. I've given both a used 2009 and new 2012 model a test drives and think it might be the car for me. Currently I'm a college student with a short daily commute but want this car to "fit" my needs past graduation (though I don't see much long-distance travel in the future).

Here's my issue (anyone's issue) - how in the world are you supposed to know if a car works for you from two measly test drives? I can't find one for rental and don't know anyone that owns one. I'm looking to buy used to save money (have found some promising listings online) but I can't plunk down $14k+ for a car I don't know will truly fit my needs.

My two concerns (which I have researched thoroughly) are road noise and seat comfort. I am petite and have chronic pain, which stack the odds against me in the seat comfort department.

How did you know the Fit was the right car for you? Is there any way to try one out for longer than a dealership test drive?

Old 11-10-2011, 08:09 PM
5 Year Member
I didnt even test-drive mine. I asked what the MPG was, asked the price, then signed the papers. I was out the door in less than an hour. LOL

Old 11-10-2011, 08:51 PM
Road noise is worse than my civic or odyssey. Ride is harsher.

I take my van for long drives(comfort). I bought it for ease of parking in downtown Oakland. MPG/price is comparable to a Civic LX.

Last edited by TrungLam; 11-10-2011 at 08:53 PM. Reason: Edit
Old 11-10-2011, 09:11 PM
5 Year Member