General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Hello All, newbie here!

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2011, 11:24 PM
Hello All, newbie here!

I just got back a few minutes ago from the local Honda dealer and came within the width of an atom from buying a 2011 Sport Fit. The guy was laying the pressure on 'cause he knew how much I REALLY liked the car that was sitting right there in beautiful rust-orange.

But at the last moment I got a bit scared and told him I wanted to check some things out on the Internet first, hence I'm now here.

The deal would have been for me to have put down 4-grand and then pick it up in the early part of May, around the 6th. I wanted VERY MUCH to buy the car and make the deal, as it was to be mine for $20,800 OTD (I'd be paying cash). But what made me so nervous about it was due to a little too much pushiness but even more than that it's because the reviews I read of the dealership are less than stellar. In fact, they're pretty horrible.

Sooo my questions for you kind folks are as follows:

1) Do you think the OTD price was fair? I'm not interested in trying to not let a salesman make a fair profit, but I just don't want to discover that I'd been hosed. (On their website they list the car for $18,800, I think. But in the dealership room is was $20,400, fwiw.)

I just emailed another Honda dealer that's in a town not too far away to see what OTD price he could give me. So that will be interesting.

2) I read that thread in this place about what people don't like about their Fit a couple of weeks ago and a lot of people were saying the car comes with horrible carpet and that the paint chips too easily and that it has a weak air-conditioner and on and on it went, though nearly everyone said they still loved their Fits. Sooooo can you tell me if any or most of those issues have been taken care of by Honda (as the thread was started back in '06 if I'm not mistaken).