General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

TPMS hopes and fears

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2011, 09:50 PM
5 Year Member
TPMS hopes and fears

Looking some advice here. My Fit's TPMS light has been on ever since I put new tires on it last year. I bought them myself and had them put on at some rinky dink shop. After that, my TPMS light came on. Now I haven't been able to determine which sensor is broken, as they all look fine.

So my situation is this: When I got the tires, I went a size up from stock. I want to get the problem fixed to make the car more sellable, but not sure if I should go to the stealership and have them possibly BS me and tell me all four are busted AND I need to pay them for the reset, or just go back to stock size tire and hope that's it and that it goes away?

Old 01-19-2011, 10:02 PM
not sure

I'm no TPMS expert but going up one size shouldn't cause the TPMS light to go on! I'd suspect that the shop damaged ONE of the sensors. Where you go to have it diagnosed is up to you. My Honda dealership is quite fair and cut me a deal when I switched wheels and had to have the sensors re-calibrated.

Old 01-19-2011, 10:26 PM
I went up one size from14 to 15s and swapped the sensors and have no issues. I did unhook my battery after the tire install just to reset anything. You can go to the dealer to find out what is going on and if you feel like they are bs ing you just leave. Watching the tire guy switch my sensors and how the whole process went I am surprised none of mine were broken he said it is common for them to break during swap outs

Old 01-19-2011, 10:38 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Edison Carasio
Looking some advice here. My Fit's TPMS light has been on ever since I put new tires on it last year. I bought them myself and had them put on at some rinky dink shop. After that, my TPMS light came on. Now I haven't been able to determine which sensor is broken, as they all look fine.