General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

A CIVIC would take me out!

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2009, 10:47 AM
A CIVIC would take me out!

I just washed the report on Foxnews. I know the Fit is small. I know the Fit would not do well up against a huge SUV, but they tested it against a CIVIC at 40mpg head on and I would be toast! A CIVIC!?!?!?!

I should have not watched that. I regret getting my Fit now and that in itself disappoints me.

Old 04-14-2009, 10:52 AM
5 Year Member
If you keep worrying about it, it will drive you crazy. Just be as safe as possible on the road. If your worried about that much then trade it in or sell the car for something else.

Old 04-14-2009, 11:04 AM
I'm a very safe driver, but it's the other yahoos I am concerned about.

I love my fit because it's a super little car - looks, mileage, etc... This report just caused me concern, that's all.

Even if i wanted to trade it in for something with a better safety reputation, I could not - can't afford to do that now and my husband would pull his hair out at my even mentioning it. LOL!

I just like hearing what others think about this issue.

Again, I expected more out of the Fit with regards to a crash test against a car like the Civic. I tote around two kids, you know.

I did take this all into consideration when I bought the car. I traded in a 4Runner (mpg was terrible, gas prices through the roof). I read that for its class, the Fit had a great safety rating.

Old 04-14-2009, 11:22 AM
5 Year Member
4 star EURO NCAP if Im not mistaken

Old 04-14-2009, 11:32 AM
Master FitFaker. CHEA!
buy a hummer.

feel safe.

Old 04-14-2009, 11:37 AM
I'm not that wealthy.
I'll just make due, thanks.

Old 04-14-2009, 11:39 AM
Originally Posted by gynosis
4 star EURO NCAP if Im not mistaken
That's good if you live in Europe where all cars are about the size of the Fit, correct?

None the less, I keep going back to how awful the Fit did up against a Civic. Totally surprised by that one.