General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

How To, Best Mpg Methods M5

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2008, 08:24 AM
5 Year Member
How To, Best Mpg Methods M5

I'm new to FIT ownership. The fuel savings as well as how the FIT drives was what drove the change for me.

I can say out of the box, I'm finding myself driven to learn how to drive one and learn the Manual 5 speed transmission FIT specific techniques that result in the absolute best fuel economy. I'd like to read input from experienced users that have had the same or similar goals, what has been verified as best practices.

I do have some constraints.
My normal commute is what it is and includes 19miles of freeway travel. 65mph would be the min safe speed and 70 would be safer. I know this is big and slower is better but 65 it will be unless the normal pack slows as gas cost increase. I also drive on flat Fla roads. My work commute being 27miles with 70% freeway and 30% semi stop and go.

I have ordered a scanner and hope to learn from real data soon, in addition to your help what is best.

From searching and reading on here, I have raised the tire pressure to 45psi and have measured the tire temp and pressure and find that a safe change with the 51psi limit. None have reported premature tire ware out from that change so far. That is a big item of interest for me. I do not want to learn after 10k miles I trashed my new 195/55 15's

I heard a rummer from the Scanner dealer, that coasting in neutral or with clutch in, is not as good as lifting when approaching a stop in gear. He said the act of lifting in gear on most new cars tells the ECU to stop fuel flow at the injectors. No idea if this is true for a M5 fit. Of course lifting and going to neutral just leaves the engine at idle