General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Just Picked It Up :)

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2007, 01:55 PM
Just Picked It Up :)

Hi all,

I just picked up my Fit over the weekend although it's my first manual transmission car, all I can say is wow what a great little car for it's price and features

Since I'm totally new to driving stick, not sure if this is common to all manual transmission cars but do you guys find the engine overly loud at ~2000rpms as well as when in reverse gear?

Old 10-01-2007, 01:59 PM
5 Year Member
It may be that you're just getting used to MT that you think the engine is loud. I usually shift at 3000rpm and the engine noise is not a problem for me. As for reverse, there is a whining that's typical, nothing to worry about.

Enjoy driving stick! The Fit Mt is a blast to drive, but I'm sure you already know that :-P

Old 10-01-2007, 02:00 PM
Retired Moderator
Congratz on the Fit!

Old 10-01-2007, 02:12 PM
5 Year Member
congratz on the fit!!!!!!! g/l with it!

Old 10-02-2007, 11:11 PM
Thanks for the replies,

It's real fun to boot around although I've stalled it many times already, I'm learning MT on this car but whenever I turn around with it in reverse I still can't believe how roomy it is. It's worth every penny

btw - another n00b question, during shifts how long do you take to fully release the clutch?

Last edited by mar1b0r0man; 10-02-2007 at 11:21 PM.
Old 10-02-2007, 11:24 PM
Originally Posted by mar1b0r0man
Thanks for the replies,

It's real fun to boot around although I've stalled it many times already, I'm learning MT on this car but whenever I turn around with it in reverse I still can't believe how roomy it is. It's worth every penny

btw - another n00b question, during shifts how long do you take to fully release the clutch?
good shit bro...congrats btw

Old 10-03-2007, 12:00 AM
as for the reverse gear whine.