General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Manual vs Automatic transmission

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 02:18 AM
5 Year Member
I am reading the Fit Spec. and the EPA mileage estimates are:

FIT Fit Sport
Manual (City/HWY) 33/38 33/38
Auto (City/HWY) 31/38 31/37

Questions:

1. Why is the Auto Fit sport "loose" 1 MPG as compared with Fit? Added weight?
2. The gear ratios are so different between auto and manual. Why is that Fit Auto/Manual has the same HWY estimate (hugh RPM difference!)?

Still trying to decide MT or Auto...

- Tim

Old 04-27-2006, 04:50 AM
5 Year Member
I am in the same boat.
The AT has significantly lower RPM at cruising speeds but rated lower MPG highway.

Old 04-27-2006, 02:02 PM
5 Year Member
Any "mileage and gear ratio" expert care to explain?

I am leaning towards Auto now (I have been driving MT for 20 years!) knowing the mileage is almost the same, the rpm is relatively lower, and all I give up is the full maunal control. I would think that this is a no brainer. Are they other hidden factors?

- Tim

Old 04-27-2006, 02:49 PM
Something about the extra power needed to shift gears in an automatic tranny affects the MPG... That's all I know.

I've been averaging somewhere in the low 30s so far. Pure city driving. And I've been doing a lot of fast accelerations, since the novelty hasn't worn off yet. I have barely driven on the highway so far.

Tonight I will be filling up for a three hour drive, so that'll give me a better idea of the mileage I'm getting. My old car did the drive on half a tank. I'm hoping to use a single tank for the entire roundtrip.

Old 04-03-2007, 03:15 PM
I drive 370 miles to work (luckily I do this twice a month only). This is all highway on I-95, some hills, some stop and go. I find that 75mph is the ideal speed for the m/t. I have gotten 43mpg several times. When I average 80, I see 38mpg, 65 also is about 38mpg.

Old 04-03-2007, 10:11 PM
5 Year Member