General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Is this used Honda Fit worth buying?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2022, 02:33 PM
Is this used Honda Fit worth buying?

Found a 2009 Fit Sport with 94,000 miles on it. The guy I'm buying it from said he took care of it. It has a new paint job, recently detailed, and according to Carfax the maintenance history checks out. When I drove it it ran smooth. I'm not a mechanic or have the best knowledge of cars but I couldn't find anything majorly bad with it. The engine didn't sound the best, and I included a video below, please check it out. I ran it with the free OBD2 scanner they give you at Auto Zone and the only code that popped up was a short in one of the front seat belts, which I don't think is a big deal?

Two of the tires felt a little old. They weren't dry rotting but I did the Lincoln Penny Test and two of them were a bit low. He said he bought them about 9 months ago.

He listed the car at $9500, and came down to $9200

The VIN is: JHMGE88689S023761

Here is the CARFAX

Here is an album of videos/pictures Please listen to the first video and let me know if the engine is supposed to sound like that. Is that ticking normal?

When I googled the VIN number it popped up on an auction site: site 1 This aligns with the Carfax I suppose. The rust on the sides looks bad, and according to the Carfax there was some damage on the left and right. Maybe that is the damage? It could be frame damage, I'll have to check again when I go to see the car a second time.

The guy selling said he was selling because he had 2 other cars (a bmw and mercedes I think) and wanted to get rid of this car. The insurance for all three was a lot. When I asked why didn't he list the price higher as he claimed it was worth like $12/13k, he said he wanted to sell fast and that his wife and him needed the money. He claimed to be a cop and Christian as well.

Do you guys think it is worth it?