Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

Looking for a new head unit.....

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2009, 01:02 AM
5 Year Member
Smile Looking for a new head unit.....

A buddy of mine got a new head unit for his Expedition at Wally world for 150. It is a dual brand with a motor that brings out a lcd screen and dvd player. Looks great and seems to work great. I cannot find anything like it. Any tips or deals people are aware of....?

Old 12-22-2009, 03:18 AM
I have been installing professionally for a few years, and trust me, the reliability and quality of Dual products are on par with a soiled diaper. Don't be a cheap-skate, its a waste of your time, money, and effort. You can get a perfectly good quality unit by a more trustworthy company like Kenwood, Alpine, JVC, Pioneer, etc. for the same amount of money. (/end rant)

Old 12-22-2009, 11:06 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Col. Mustard
I have been installing professionally for a few years, and trust me, the reliability and quality of Dual products are on par with a soiled diaper. Don't be a cheap-skate, its a waste of your time, money, and effort. You can get a perfectly good quality unit by a more trustworthy company like Kenwood, Alpine, JVC, Pioneer, etc. for the same amount of money. (/end rant)
how do you feel about Jensen units....?

Old 12-22-2009, 11:55 AM
I have experienced similar quality and reliability issues with Jensen. And as a note, avoid any inexpensive unit with any type of motorized face, it's likely to fail a lot sooner than a non-motorized one.

Old 12-22-2009, 09:06 PM
I put a JVC KD-AHD59 in my Fit a couple of weeks ago. I really like it. Great sound. Plays cd and mp3's. Built in HD Radio, Built in Ipod/Iphone controls, front usb port, Sat radio ready. All the correct outputs onthe back if you want to add and extra amp and subs later. About 1000x better quality than the factory radio.