Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

I know, very dumb question, Ipod/USB

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 12:25 AM
I know, very dumb question, Ipod/USB

OK, first off, I'm thinking about buying a new head unit for the Fit. I want one that has a front USB port so I can use the USB sticks instead of my Ipod. Now, heres the dumb questions. Can I transfer the music from my Itunes library to a USB stick? Also, on a little unrelated note, when you guys rip music from your cds to the computer, what format has the best quality, i.e., MP3, WMA, etc.....

Thanks for reading!

Old 05-06-2008, 07:42 AM
5 Year Member
I'm not an expert but here's my recent experience -

- USB sticks are great, probably the best portable storage now that the prices are coming down, but they're just a way to carry files, it's the files, encoders and the player that are the limiting factors in formats, quality, and portability

- Proprietary formats tend to be more efficient than open formats, if you can hear the difference and your player will support them. I don't hear a difference at the second highest MP3 compression vs WMA but I'm not a true audiophile and I only have the stock HU.

- DRM - iTunes and some WMA files require DRM support, my Rio player supports DRM, my car MP3 player does not (MP3 has no DRM AFAIK, WMA can, and iTunes (M4P) does).

- You can download format converters - for iTunes and DRM'd WMA, read these as DRM breakers - but this violates the iTunes license you signed and has other obvious legal issues. Alternatively, you can burn your iTunes to a CD, then rip from the CD. Sound quality is compromised but it isn't bad and better than ripping from a youtube video (if that's legal). Some online stores are blowing off DRM (Amazon MP3 for example), if you can legally find the music you want without DRM, then DRM won't be an issue for you.