Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

Infinity Reference or Kappas?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2007, 08:56 PM
5 Year Member
Infinity Reference or Kappas?

First off, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to car audio but I have done some reading.

I have chosen to go with an Infinity Basslink II for simplicity and space, but I'd like to upgrade the front speakers also. I'd like to go with either the Reference or Kappas simply because of the shallow mounting depth as they should be fairly easy to install.

Most of the reviews I've read about the Kappas people have noted that you need to amplify them to sound good. Will they really sound bad with just the headunit power? Should I just go with the References? The Kappas aren't much more than the Refs so I don't mind spending a little more money for better sound.

Thanks

Old 03-12-2007, 12:19 PM
need more info

Dude, please don't take this wrong. I'm not criticizing your plan, just trying to clarify it before I offer any opinion. With that in mind, I have questions:

1) Are you keeping the original head unit?
2) Are you looking for thump, or good clean sound?
3) Are you trying to avoid using outboard amplification?
4) Are you planning to use a passive high-pass filter for the front speakers?

In general, I'm skeptical that you'd hear much improvement at all if you upgrade the front speakers, but drive them full-range with head unit power.

Old 03-12-2007, 12:42 PM
5 Year Member
Well, I'm looking for some thump as I feel that's part of the bass experience, but I definately want clean, balanced sound.

As for the headunit, I've considered upgrading it but it seems like a lot of trouble the way it's designed. I've seen the dash replacements, but I'd like to avoid upgrading the headunit unless it's necessary.