Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

Ominous Radio Problem....

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 12:14 PM
Exclamation Ominous Radio Problem....

i have had my fit since april 20th. it has about 17k miles on it (production number somewhere around 3600.)

yesterday something started occuring that really disturbed me... i turned off my car after a short jaunt and the radio stayed on for several seconds after i turned the car off... i opened the door, it stayed on... pulled the key out... it stayed on. so far, ever since then it has happened. every time i turn the car off. (the dome light stays on as well.)

i work in the used car business and typically problems like that are indicitive of a much larger electrical problem on the horizon...

anyone who has had an elecrtical problem knows that they are NEVER completly solved...

i am going to the dealer this week to get it looked at... but i have 2 questions:

1.) how many times does a problem have to recur before it can be bought back under lemon laws?

2.) has anyone else had this problem yet? (a search of the forums turned up nothing...)

i am quite worried about this and i hope it is no big deal, i really love my fit and would hate to have to trade it in for something else because of an electrical problem.

Old 01-23-2007, 12:55 PM
Eletrical problem isnt unheard of on Honda. Most of time cause by bad ground, faulty multiplex or control unit. I wouldn't worry about trying to get the car lemon just for that, dealer should be able to fix it.

I just replaced a driver side under dash fuse box(multiplex integrated) on a 06 civic with 3000 miles because the dome light wouldnt turn off. Simple fix

Old 01-23-2007, 01:43 PM
you're most likely right... in fact the ONLY problems i have ever had in hondas are electrical (living with chicago winters ALL cars have those...)