Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Vafc in a GD3

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2008, 11:19 AM
5 Year Member
Vafc in a GD3

Has anyone tried tuning their Fit with an Apex-i VAFC (I or II)? I've been wanting to tune with it, but I'm not quite sure if it's compatible.

Old 10-20-2008, 04:47 PM
Up!!

I'm interested too!!!

Marko!!

Old 10-21-2008, 09:49 PM
From my understanding, the "vtec" in the L15A isn't 'true' vtec in that there's no actual cam changeover, rather I think some valves close/open in some fashion.

I'm no engineer, so my babblespeak could be completely off......but I don't think a VAFC will do anything.

Old 10-21-2008, 09:52 PM
Originally Posted by chimmike
From my understanding, the "vtec" in the L15A isn't 'true' vtec in that there's no actual cam changeover, rather I think some valves close/open in some fashion.

I'm no engineer, so my babblespeak could be completely off......but I don't think a VAFC will do anything.
VAFC isnt only for controlling VTEC crossover,its a fuel controller.

Old 10-22-2008, 10:10 AM
I know this, but if the vtec function doesn't work, just get an SAFC.

problem is, especially on these newer cars, piggybacks like SAFC's essentially only work in WOT mode, the ecu eventually "learns" the safc tune and overrides it. It's an issue that S2000 owners have been dealing with for a while.

Old 10-22-2008, 10:13 AM
I <3 SPOON
5 Year Member
I know this, but if the vtec function doesn't work, just get an SAFC.

problem is, especially on these newer cars, piggybacks like SAFC's essentially only work in WOT mode, the ecu eventually "learns" the safc tune and overrides it. It's an issue that S2000 owners have been dealing with for a while.

very true i had it in my s2k and i hated resetting the ecu every once in a while

but i think same thing.....it won't do shit for a Fit

Old 10-22-2008, 10:39 PM
5 Year Member
heres the pic
Name:  100_0127.jpg
Views: 849