Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

turbo question...

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2007, 05:16 PM
5 Year Member
turbo question...

okay i have a few questions...im pretty new to cars in general...been driving for few years but my car before this was a minivan...haha but just getting into the whole modding thing...

if i go turbo...do i have to get rid of my cold air intake? how much hp can a turbo add? what about super?

pros n cons of turbo vs supercharger?

i wanted to upgrade my header/exhaust(want to do this before turbo or super)...was thinking of 2 1/4 for the complete exhaust system...? is that too big? what would be best for maximum performance. if i change my headers/exhaust...should i wait to do that after turbo? or will i be able to get turbo or supercharger after i change my headers/exhaust?

what about nitrous on the fit...? whats the maximum boost you could do without damaging it? 50-70? or can you do over 100 if you change some other parts?

and one more simple question...if i decide to go up a size in tires/rims...is there a big weight difference? dont want to sacrifice performance for looks.

thanks for helpin a noob... ;]

Old 09-19-2007, 07:22 PM
I run THIS
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by kancerr
okay i have a few questions...im pretty new to cars in general...been driving for few years but my car before this was a minivan...haha but just getting into the whole modding thing...

if i go turbo...do i have to get rid of my cold air intake? how much hp can a turbo add? what about super?

Yes you will have to get rid of your Intake, HP depends on the boost you run

pros n cons of turbo vs supercharger?

Turbos usually have a little better torque curve, but cause alot of heat and have turbo lag. Superchargers have a little less torque at lower RPMs but the power is instant, doesnt run as Hot and is usually a little friendlier to the engine