Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

New 2010 Milano Red owner here, questions...

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2011, 09:22 AM
5 Year Member
New 2010 Milano Red owner here, questions...

I have some experience withe detailing over the last 15 years, almost solely on BMW products, I have used the Klasse twins (AIO and SG) on most of my M3's followed up with a couple layers of Blitz one grand in opposing directions for depth. I have always hand applied everything.

I had no idea when I bought the Milano Red last Friday night that it might be a single stage paint, how do I confirm this? Is it a positive that its a single stage on the 2010? It sure doesn't look like it and last Saturday I removed some of the cheesy door and wheel well trim applied by the dealer and used Goof Off with a microfiber to take the 3M body tape residue off and I had no color transfer to the microfiber, i would have expected a little on a single stage paint.

Would my normal regimen of the Klasse twins and Blitz be good for this single stage paint, I have to buy new product anyway so I'm open to suggestions. Guys on the BMW board I frequent suggested Klasse, all recommend using a polymer sealer.

Old 07-19-2011, 11:30 AM
5 Year Member
OK, one of the guys on the BMW detailing board mentioned this, this sound kosher?

... According to the Fit's paint code, it's a tricoat paint with tint in the outer clearcoat. Treat it like clearcoat and you should be fine. BTW, the Collinite Sapphire cleaner isn't recommended for clearcoats so I'd stick with your Klasse twins.

Old 07-28-2011, 05:28 PM