Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

Cleaning under the Hood? Any Tips?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 12:21 AM
Cleaning under the Hood? Any Tips?

My 2007 Fit Sport has never seen a drop under that hood yet, and I'm starting to dislike the dust and dirt that's collecting.

I'm new to this sort of thing, and the idea of water and other cleaning supplies around there without any sort of preemptive knowledge, scares the living crap out of me.

Could anyone shed some light on this dilemma for me?
Perhaps some first-hand experience or knowledge, I'm sure you guys keep your engines sparkling clean - there must be some well-kept secret?

Thanks again.

Old 06-18-2009, 10:32 AM
5 Year Member
Me, I just wash down the plastic parts (intake cover, airbox, fusebox, etc.) with water and car shampoo to move the dirt and dust away. Fortunately for us, the way the GDs' L-series engines are designed means it's pretty difficult for water to get in via the ignition coils. They're tucked underneath the intake manifold. That said, don't overdo the water.

Once the shampoo has done its job, I wash it away. I let it dry, then I slather on some Armor All protectant and wipe it on the aforementioned plastic parts - just to keep 'em shiny. Unless you're a professional engine detailer, it's better to stay on the safe side with cleaning the engine bay. The way I see it, you can probably get away with just cleaning the plastic pieces because they're the most obvious.

HTHs

Old 06-18-2009, 07:47 PM
First of all, it's great to find a fellow TTGL lover. I'm thinking of getting a custom DAI-GURREN Brigade decal for my hood.

Second off, thanks for all the info! Really helped me out.

Old 07-01-2009, 07:14 AM
a damp towel and a dry towel works fine for mine. I clean under the hood every few weeks so that it never builds up more than a slight layer of dust.

Old 07-01-2009, 12:31 PM