Car Shows, Events, and Racing Announcements, discussions, news reports, and pictures for Car Shows, Race Events, Media Events, and Group Drive Events. Please post Event Location in the Thread Title since this is an International Forum!

A racecar drivers opinion of the Fit (base).

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 07:06 PM
A racecar drivers opinion of the Fit (base).

First, a little background on me. My name is Alejandro and I am majoring in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Texas in Arlington. I joined a club at UTA called Formula SAE. Its a club that builds a racecar completely out of scratch every year, and then we take it to Detroit and compete against schools from all over the world. Anyway, the way the drivers are usually chosen is we put them in a very old car, and see how they perform. The year I finally was able to drive, we had a tight schedule so instead of training us they just threw us in one of the newer cars to see who was the fastest. I happened to be one of the few who made the cut. That year, we blew the engine we had at competition so I was unable to drive. This year, I got invited to go to the SCCA Nationals, and I was able to get 4th overall in my class. Before I drove UTA's cars I used to autocross my Jetta quite a bit. It had basic suspension and performance bolt-ons, and I think that car handled quite well. Anyway, that is the reason why I call myself a racecar driver. If you disagree, thats cool, I dont care. On to the review:

Ergonomics:
The seating position is one of an economy car. You sit very upright. This allows for easy ingress and egress. Its not exactly sporty but it works pretty well in the Fit. Especially if you consider that the Fit is just a commuter car, and not a racecar.