3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Can you buy a Fit in advance?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2014, 12:12 PM
Can you buy a Fit in advance?

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum. I have never bought a brand new car before, so there are a lot of things that I don't know. Some advice would be much appreciated.

About a month ago I was happily driving a hand-me-down Toyota Corolla from my sister until a high school student (probably texting) smashed into me and totaled my car. I got a decent payout from the girl's insurance company, and now I'm finally ready to buy my first brand new car. I have a full-time job, and I am a part-time student. I have pretty good credit (last I checked my score was around 740), and I have virtually no credit card debt. I do have a sizable amount of student loan debt, though.

I'm concerned that right now my credit is in a particularly sweet spot with all my credit card debt being just paid off and before the new wave of student loans being added to it. I'll be having to add some loans for my summer and fall tuition pretty soon, and I'm afraid that might lower my credit score. I already got approved for financing through Capital One with a 2.93% interest rate, which I think is pretty good. That offer expires on June 11, but I doubt I'll be able to purchase a Fit by June 11. Do Honda dealerships let you buy a car that they don't yet have on their lot? Could I go ahead and purchase the car to lock in the good interest rate even if they can't physically give me the vehicle until a month or two later? I was wondering if anyone has ever done anything like that before?

Old 05-22-2014, 12:15 PM