2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Should I buy this reconstructed 2010 Fit?

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2013, 09:24 AM
5 Year Member
Question Should I buy this reconstructed 2010 Fit?

Greetings! This is my first post after months of lurking, so I hope I'm posting this in the right place...

I want a Fit REALLY badly but the only ones within my budget are the dreaded reconstructed titles. So I found this Fit on Craigslist about a few weeks ago.

2010 Honda Fit Sport, 35k, loaded

After e-mailing the owner and receiving the VIN I was able to find the auction where he purchased the car, along with pictures of the damage sustained.

2010 FIT SPORT Salvage for Sale from Copart

I'm no mechanic, but it really doesn't look too bad to me. It looks more like cosmetic damage than anything. He says it's been his daily commuter for about 1.5 years since repairing it. I was gonna set up a meeting to see the car in person next week, but I just wanted some advice. Would this be a good buy? Does that price seem too high? He originally had it listed for about 500 bucks more. Could I possibly haggle it down lower?

Some back-story on me. If I were to get this car I plan on driving it until I couldn't anymore, so reselling it isn't an issue for me.

Any advice I an get before I set up a meeting would be really great. Thanks!!

Last edited by FitNFoxxy; 01-02-2013 at 09:25 AM. Reason: Typo
Old 01-02-2013, 09:32 AM
5 Year Member
Why Is Buying a Car with a Salvage Title a Good Idea?

There's a big debate over the merits of buying a car with a salvage title. Critics of salvage title sales point out that buyers can't always know for sure how bad the previous damage was. They also point to problems with insurance, financing and low value issues. However, there are some who like to try their luck with a salvage title sale. Here are some reasons why some defy the warnings and try for a deal with a car or truck with a salvage title.
Low Cost