2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Warranty 8 year 120k for $930?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2009, 07:30 PM
5 Year Member
Warranty 8 year 120k for $930?

I bought the fit for reliability, but i just found out bumper to bumper factory warranty for a total of 8 years after purchases costs about $930.

Is it worth it?

I have a base 09 manual model.

Old 04-01-2009, 07:38 PM
5 Year Member
For that kind of money I would personally upgrade to an LX or Sport instead of extending the warranty. I bought my Honda Fit partly because of Honda's overall good reliability record. I guess I never thought of extending the warranty because Honda's are pretty cheap to fix if something does go wrong.

Old 04-01-2009, 07:52 PM
5 Year Member
Don't bother with an extended warranty man. I was a Honda technician for almost three years and 75% of my work encompassed TSBs and regular maintenance.

Old 04-01-2009, 07:58 PM
5 Year Member
I bought the 6-year 100K extended warranty for $800. Since my car only has 14K miles and is a year old, do you guys think I can cancel the warranty and get all of my money back (minus any cancellation charges)?

Old 04-01-2009, 08:28 PM
5 Year Member
Depends on the type of warranty I guess. Most kick in after the factory warranty, I don't see why they'd prorate it in any way if that's the case.

Old 04-01-2009, 08:28 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Super Mario
I bought the 6-year 100K extended warranty for $800. Since my car only has 14K miles and is a year old, do you guys think I can cancel the warranty and get all of my money back (minus any cancellation charges)?
I recommend that you ask Honda if its possible to get a full or partial refund.