2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Arduino Auto Headlight Circuit

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2014, 11:43 AM
Arduino Auto Headlight Circuit

This is a brief write up of what I did to add an Auto headlight feature to my 2013 Fit Sport Nav. Standard disclaimers apply: I am in no way responsible if you try to do this and screw up your car. There are many ways to do this, but as a coder, I decided to use a programmable bit at the heart of it. The circuit turns on the headlights whenever the ambient light level falls below a programmed level. I prefer my Nav screen to not always be dark (night mode) when the headlights are on, so I added a second output to control the Nav illumination. I grabbed much of the info needed for this mod off sites like this, so I decided to contribute back what I learned in the process. This write up is not extremely detailed, but I hope it provides enough info if you want to attempt it yourself. If something is not clear, ask and I will try and respond.

The Hardware