2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Woot!!! Hopefully I get my Honda Fit next year!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2013, 08:27 PM
Woot!!! Hopefully I get my Honda Fit next year!!!

OMG!!! Sup guys, so cool to find a Honda Fit forum!!

I love this car so much and can't wait to own one.

I am saving up and hopefully will be able to buy one next year by Summer.

I have some questions though in general about stuff as I am brand new to driving cars, buying cars, insurance etc.

1) My car will be street parked - I don't see this changing anytime soon as I am nowhere near able to buy a house and I like simply renting an apartment - Now is this really bad for me owning a Fit? Some friends say parking on the street tells everyone to mess with my car, but so many people park on the street...it is so common, should I fear this? I don't have a garage or anything...

2) Is the Honda Fit really a wheel thief magnet? I would hate to get my new Fit and have my wheels taken!!!!

3) Will insurance for a Fit and a Fit Sport differ by a lot? I want the Fit Sport much more than the Fit!!!

4) I don't even know what my insurance will be like, I am a brand new driver...I also won't be buying a car between now and when I get my Fit, so that may be wasted months that where I could have had insurance counting down the discounts? What I mean is, 6-12 months from now will insurance give me cheaper rates because I had a driver license for that long? Or do I need to be insured to some kind of car for it to start timing me before I get discounts?

5) Is it OK to pimp up the car when I build it. I like Door Sills and Fancy padded side door buttons etc...or should I avoid these to save some money?

6) I live in NYC, so is it a good city car?

7) What are good alarm systems? Should I let the dealer install their alarm system and then upgrade to a fancier alarm system at a technician later on?