2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Experience buying a Fit via Costco?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 10:10 AM
Experience buying a Fit via Costco?

Hi Everyone -

Newbie here, not yet a Fit owner. I'll be one soon enough, just trying to figure out the best way to buy.

Has anyone used Costco's buying service for the Fit? If so how did it go?

Any other buying service experiences to report?

Thanks in advance!

Old 12-28-2012, 10:36 AM
5 Year Member
I used Costco's car buying service to buy my Fit here in Atlanta. It's a good starting point, but does not absolve the need to negotiate. I registered via Costco's website and was put in touch with the Costco appointed rep at a Honda dealer nearby (Hennessy Honda, Woodstock GA). They would not give any information prior to entering the dealership (this works against the buyer).

They brought out a xerox price list of what they could offer. I had already done my homework; the Costco price was $200 below invoice. This was at the end of "Cash for Clunkers" (alas I had no clunkers to get cash for) so the cars were in high demand. I felt the price was fair, so I said OK. They would put nothing in writing at this stage (take your own notes, bring a calculator).

They then proceeded to quote me the "out-the-door" price with Tax Tag and Administrative (TTA) fees. I had calculated these costs close enough to know their figure was $500 higher than it should have been. Nothing was written down at this point. When I questioned the discrepancy, they said it was their administrative fees ($500). I told them I wasn't willing to pay this. They said they "had" to charge these fees; how else could they pay their office help? I got up and left.

I hadn't reached home before they called me to say they were lowering the price of the car another $500 to compensate for the admin fees (which would still appear on the sales contract). I said ok and bought me a Fit.