2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Hissing/Peeping sound on break/wheels when you stop.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2012, 06:13 AM
Hissing/Peeping sound on break/wheels when you stop.

I dont get it guys, this is the second time I went on honda for this issue this year, its a new 2012 jazz/fit with only 5K on the mark. Irritating sound when you break, Hissing/peeping sound on the breaks like a metal to metal hissing sound. The Honda service center said twice that it is just a dust causing that I use break softly when stopping. I dont get it when he said this one, I am a normal driver and always been a calmer driver and when ever I use breaks I always make sure I stop not right away like a raging racer, breaking properly not doing pressing pedal to the metal thing. No problem with the break the tech said... What can you say about this one??? Any opinion???

Old 05-25-2012, 09:37 AM
5 Year Member
remove wheels, use sandpaper and lightly sand the rotors.
also, check to make sure that the pads arent prematurly worn.

Old 05-25-2012, 10:01 PM
5 Year Member
Do you have to sand both sides? I have some chirping going on when lightly pressing the brakes and feel it has to do with the pads and its interaction with the caliper piston.

OP: check your rotors for premature wear or marks, maybe the wear indicators are touching the dust shield.

I feel you pain, brake noise on relatively new brakes is a pain. Contemplating ordering oem pads and the honda shim kit to see if the noise goes away.

Old 05-26-2012, 10:43 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Santiad
OP: check your rotors for premature wear or marks, maybe the wear indicators are touching the dust shield.
it's a '12 with 5k miles.

op maybe your hearing is too keen.

Old 05-26-2012, 01:42 PM
Banned
Originally Posted by Acid Jay