2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

CEL with intake

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2011, 08:45 PM
CEL with intake

I have always been one to make my own renditions of expensive performance parts considering i am a machinist and have access to almost anything i need. However, my fit is sort of confusing me. I recently made my own short ram intake, almost identical to the prm i believe, but not positive considering i dont know their exact specs. MAF position in the intake tube is identical to stock, but about two minutes after running the car the CEL comes on and reads a lean code.

normally the light wouldnt bother me, almost every car ive owned has had it on. The lean code normally wouldnt bother me much either considering most hondas ive had have run better and had more power on a leaner mix. Dyno testing has showed a 3-5 hp drop with the new intake, and is showing it super lean. What am i doing wrong? I want to elaborate on my design in the future and just want to know what needs to change to make this work. any help would be appreciated. thanks

Old 12-26-2011, 09:06 PM
5 Year Member
Right now cold air is denser and with out knowing how much air is going in I can only guess. Higher octane would help it a little leaner mixtures need higher octane also pure gasoline w/o ethanol would help richen up the fuel trims. Usually the opening to the intake is restricted to slow the air across the MAF. Also the throttle body and MAF need to be re calibrated which requires tuning. You are obviously running more than 30 percent more air which requires more fuel.

Old 12-26-2011, 10:18 PM
5 Year Member
Get your code(s) pulled it could be a number of things.

Can we see some pics of your MAF tube? That could help.

Old 12-26-2011, 10:19 PM
5 Year Member