2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

I'm thinking about buying a used Fit, question pls.

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2011, 03:14 PM
I'm thinking about buying a used Fit, question pls.

Hi Folks,

I'm a pizza delivery driver and "all" of my cars get a major workout. I live in an area where the roads are heaved from the frost, lots of ruts, huge pot holes etc and construction. I currently drive a Suzuki Swift which for the most part has been a rugged little car. However, the air conditioning needs a compressor next year before it gets hot again. I'm also finding that I go through lots of shocks, idler arms etc.

What is the suspension like on the Fit, is it solid, will it take lots of rough roads? Mind you I don't expect any car to take a beating forever without repairs, I'm just wondering.

I'm told by many people this car is amazing in the gas mileage department. This is one of the reason why I'm considering buying it for my deliveries.

Thanks folks!

Old 10-28-2011, 04:07 PM
Get this instead:

1995 HONDA CIVIC CX HATCHBACK

For me, even the Fit's stock suspension is stiff for rough roads. Old Civic is better for what you're doing IMO. All the miles you're going to put on the Fit is going to depreciate it alot and I don't think it's worth the cash outlay up front.

Old 10-28-2011, 05:10 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by tappers
Hi Folks,

I'm a pizza delivery driver and "all" of my cars get a major workout. I live in an area where the roads are heaved from the frost, lots of ruts, huge pot holes etc and construction. I'm finding that I go through lots of shocks, idler arms etc. What is the suspension like on the Fit, is it solid, will it take lots of rough roads?
I'll just make the observation that there are LOTS of years of Fit experiences on this forum.....and very few if any mention of problems with shocks, idler arms,etc. FWIW

geo

Old 10-28-2011, 05:29 PM