2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Tire pressure for Fits?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2011, 06:41 PM
5 Year Member
Question Tire pressure for Fits?

I'm new to the Fit, and I'm seeing some outside wear on the front tires (factory 175/65R-15 Dunlops) after only about 15k miles. The car doesn't pull and runs straight on level ground, stops straight. Been keeping the recommended 32 psi in them. Would it hurt to air them up a bit more to around 36-38 especially the fronts?. My '95 Civic with 185/60-14 General Altimax HP's I kept them at 44 psi and had very even, flat wear. The max cold pressure on their sidewall was 52 psi, the Fit's Dunlops say 42 psi max cold. Possibly Dunlops are a softer tread compound. Bought the Altimax tires from TireRack.com after comparing their overall ratings and reading many reviews.

Old 03-15-2011, 06:45 PM
5 Year Member
Tire pressures is a sensitive topic and has already been debated to death, just like fuel octane and oil change(intervals and oil choice). There's no point in asking for the same opinions again.

There really are only 2 categories of opinions

A) what Honda recommends
B) everyone else's opinion whether it is go with higher PSI, disagree, or somewhere in the middle.

Head over to ECO fit subforum and read the various threads and calculations if you wish to go with (B). Try things out, you can always undo things or split the difference.

End of the day it's your car, do as you wish

Last edited by raytseng; 03-15-2011 at 06:48 PM.
Old 03-15-2011, 09:10 PM
IMNSHO, the original Dunlops are a really crappy tire. They are good at low rolling resistance but precious little else. Raising your pressure to 38 won't hurt, the car feels a little peppier as well. Potentially at too high a pressure your contact patch suffers as well as tread wear but the extra fuel economy and additional tire mileage tips the scales for me.

As the prior poster said, things like this get people going....

b