2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

What's wrong with this picture? (18 MPG, 40k miles)

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2011, 11:11 PM
What's wrong with this picture? (18 MPG, 40k miles)

I've been driving my '08 Fit for about a year now, and I love the car. I delivered pizzas last summer and it treated me perfectly, the mileage was great as I was on the highway most of the time, and life was swell. However, things have taken a turn for the worse as since then (about a year ago) my MPG has been absolutely terrible. I usually have to fill up about once a week, and my average mileage per tank is around 18 or so. Needless to say, terrible for a Fit or any other car.

Some info:
  • I'm a high school student
  • I try to keep my RPM around 3000-4000, I rarely gun it to show off, as showing off in the Fit is a relative term
  • I live in a tiny (one square mile) town, and as such I drive very limited trips.
  • I start my car 7-8 times a day, not sure if that applies, but anyway.
  • Maintenance is always taken care of, as my father used to work on cars, and knows what he's doing. Regular things (oil, rotations, what have you) are not being neglected.

So really, this MPG is either my fault, or there's something I haven't thought of. Any ideas?

Old 01-16-2011, 11:23 PM
5 Year Member
What transmission do you have? Manual or auto?

Keeping your revs below 3400 RPMs, anything above VTEC will engage and you will use more fuel. I personally shift between 2500 to 3000 RPMs to save fuel when there is no traffic, 2800-3400 when there is.

Also, make sure your tires are inflated properly, engine air filter is reasonably clean, get rid of any excess weight from unneeded items being in the car, and of course use a quality fuel.

Old 01-16-2011, 11:40 PM
Originally Posted by Hootie
What transmission do you have? Manual or auto?