2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Valentine One Hardwire... Where? How?

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 03:51 AM
Valentine One Hardwire... Where? How?

Hi Guys,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to hardwiring but after 2 tickets in 1 month I think the time has come where I need to splash some money into a radar detector.

That said I dont want to use the cigarette lighter to power it up and want to hardwire it.

Ideally I would like to hardwire it but also be able to "snap" it off when I need to take it off the car easily to move it to another one. And of course quickly "snap" it back in when I bring it back.

Any ideas on how to get this accomplished?
Know anyone in the LA/OC area that maybe able to do this for relatively cheap?

Thanks again!

Old 08-25-2010, 08:16 AM
5 Year Member
hmmm... when you say hard wire, its usually permanent. unless you have 2 sets of the power supply cord.

check out specboy's car domain page on his sig on this thread

https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/2nd-generation-ge-08-present/58391-new-fit-owner.html

Old 08-25-2010, 09:25 AM
5 Year Member
Thx Punisher.

Woo, Nice choice of Radar. Mine is 11 yrs old and still going strong - still on the original suction cups too. - Been hardwired in 3 vehicles (2 integras and the FIT) and gets moved to the Ridge with the Cig adapter for long trips.

As for the install... it is EASY! - if you can work pliers, you can do this.

what you'll need is:
  • an "Add-A-Fuse" from your local autoparts store.
  • Extra Fuses - (Add-a-Fuse doesn't come with any)
  • A 9' 4-wire phone cable (6' works but is tight - no slack)
  • A 6' 4-wire phone cable (if you are mounting the concealed display as well)
  • Either A Soldering Iron and heatshrink tubing (or some buttsplices and crimpers)
  • About 1 hour of your life that a significant other can do without.