2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Harsh 1-2 shift with manual

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2010, 02:33 PM
5 Year Member
Harsh 1-2 shift with manual

When doing a WOT run, I can't get the 1-2 shift to be smooth without a shock to the driveline. I've been driving a MT for 14 years and never had this problem.

Is it the clutch delay, or am I being a little too fast and furious with my upshifts and pedal work? I'm not sure I could even emulate this in any of my past cars no matter how hard I tried.

Old 05-25-2010, 02:37 PM
5 Year Member
how many miles on the car? It could be that things are still breaking in.

Old 05-25-2010, 02:52 PM
most likely the rev hang...

Old 05-25-2010, 02:52 PM
5 Year Member
It has about 14k miles on it. Bought it used.

The clutch is a lot quieter with the throwout bearing engaged though. All cars do this to some extent, but I noticed it's about as loud as my old tdi at idle.

Old 05-25-2010, 02:56 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by dela
most likely the rev hang...
I'm pretty good at dealing with the rev hang in normal shifting, as it can be tuned out with your foot pretty good, and my last car had the same thing. Could it be that the rev hang is not letting me get back on the power though? Like a delay in the throttle? I'm talking about drag racing shifts here. Hard and fast. Not something I do regularly, but the clunk make me uneasy when it happens. In all other conditions, it works as expected.

Old 05-25-2010, 03:05 PM
Like previously mentioned its probably the Rev hang

Old 05-26-2010, 09:18 AM
Originally Posted by hayden
When doing a WOT run, I can't get the 1-2 shift to be smooth without a shock to the driveline. I've been driving a MT for 14 years and never had this problem.

Is it the clutch delay, or am I being a little too fast and furious with my upshifts and pedal work? I'm not sure I could even emulate this in any of my past cars no matter how hard I tried.