2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Need advice on Wheels...

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2009, 03:11 AM
5 Year Member
Need advice on Wheels...

So I've got a friend selling mint 17"(x7?) Dronell Power rims, that I believe are +45mm offset (could be +40mm, but i don't think they are, wouldn't want the rims+tires to sit out that far...), and they look like this:

He's also got 2 different sets of tires for me to choose from:
Bridgestone Potenza 215/40/17
Hercules 205/40/17

And he's selling the set for $800. I did a bit of searching around the forums already to try to get some more knowledge on this whole thing (since I'm a newbie to all this wheel stuff) and while I got some info from some posts, most of the posts seem a bit unclear, probably because I don't know too much about this stuff.

So because of that, I've got some questions that maybe some of you guys can help me out with:

1. How do these look? completely opinion based but I'd like some feedback
2. Are 17's with the +45 offset going to look alright on the fit? I'd like to make it clear that I WON'T be lowering my car anytime soon, and i'm not as anal as some of you guys are about the gap between the wheel and the fender. And with that would be anticipating any real problems?
3. Am I better off with the 205's over the 215's? 215's would give me better handling technically, but even with the +45 offset, they're getting a little wide no?
4. Any of you guys have experience or come across these rims? These are straight from Japan, and I'm just curious if 800 is a good, decent or bad deal. I tried looking the rims up but there's little to no info about them on the web, at least where i looked =/

Any help or advice would be appreciated. Also, if you're going to bash against 17's or wide tires or whatever, please give some practical reasoning to your claim, not just "17's are too big they look dumb" or something like that. Thanks