2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

How safe is the Fit?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2008, 12:07 PM
Smile How safe is the Fit?

Hello all! Newbie here! I have been lurking on this forum for a couple of weeks now. I am very really interested in getting the 09 FIT sport for my wife. I was at the dealership yesterday and they have a white FIT sport on the lot and I was able to check it out. I really like the design outside and inside. Very comfy seats and the steering wheel and dash is really something I admire. Now the only complain or question I have is that when I open the door it seems it is very light. Seems like very cheap metal were use to manufacture these vehicles. God forbid if we ever sustain any kind of impact from an accident. I have a 2 year old daughter and I would really like to have something more "heavy duty". I see the fit comes with front, side and curtain airbags, but are they enough? I really want your thoughts are this. By the way, I am currently driving a 08 Acura TL TypeS, it is a very well built and fast. I also own a 94 Honda accord coupe with 140K miles, still running very strong. But it is unpratical for my wife to take the toddler in and out. So I would like to replace it with the Fit since it is a lot more room and fuel efficient, plus it looks hella nice. Thanks a lot!

Old 10-30-2008, 12:15 PM
5 Year Member
09 Fit much safer than 94 Accord.

Old 10-30-2008, 12:30 PM
5 Year Member
The Fit is definitely a very light car and by no means is it going to feel luxurious--heavy doors, etc. You have to keep in mind that they are doing more with metal than they could do even 5 years ago--more efficiently placed, creating a safer car. I would also agree that the Fit is much safer than a 1994 Accord.

Old 10-30-2008, 12:30 PM
5 Year Member