2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Lengthy Engine Turnover at Ignition and the SHAKES

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2020, 06:00 PM
Question Lengthy Engine Turnover at Ignition and the SHAKES

Hi Gang,
I'm brand new! Looking forward to gaining some much needed knowledge about my car through these forums!
My 2012 is making me a little nervous (I'm going to be driving a long distance next week) because it's trying super hard to turn the engine over at ignition. Sometimes, it won't start for a few go's... Inevitably, when it does, it feels very weak... I can feel shaking during the idle. Also, whenever I shift up, I can feel the car choke a bit.
For reference, the car is at roughly 165k miles.
I am pretty new to car maintenance, so I apologize if this is a simple issue! Thanks for your help!

Old 11-27-2020, 06:59 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by AdmiralParnsip
Hi Gang,
I'm brand new! Looking forward to gaining some much needed knowledge about my car through these forums!
My 2012 is making me a little nervous (I'm going to be driving a long distance next week) because it's trying super hard to turn the engine over at ignition. Sometimes, it won't start for a few go's... Inevitably, when it does, it feels very weak... I can feel shaking during the idle. Also, whenever I shift up, I can feel the car choke a bit.
I am pretty new to car maintenance, so I apologize if this is a simple issue! Thanks for your help!
Have you any idea if the valve lash tolerance job that should have been done at 100k was done? If not, start there. In short the valve springs can tighten with age, specifically the exhaust valves in the second gen are more likely to tighten. Service info calls for 4 hours of labor to have it done.

When the valves are out of tolerance the engine will run like crap. If you're paying someone to get in there might as well get the plugs and coils changed if they're original.

Old 11-27-2020, 07:01 PM
Hi Gang,