2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Intermittent Abnormal noise during start-up

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2020, 09:46 PM
Intermittent Abnormal noise during start-up

Hi Guys,

I'm new here and recently bought a GE6 honda fit gf 1.3(A). It's a 2nd hand car with mileage of 140,000 km.
Sometimes when i start the car, i hear this weird noise after cranking the key. it's the screeching sound after the ignition.
This weird noise does not happen all the time, usually in the morning which is my first drive of the day.
It is only for a half a second when the starter is engaged. It does not continue nor would it happen again if I were to turn off the car and start it again.
No more sound after car is completely started.

Can anybody here help advise what could most likely be the problem ? Please see the video via the link i've put below.

I am very new to cars, appreciate all valuable comments.

thanks !

Last edited by Kavan Neo; 10-29-2020 at 09:49 PM.
Old 10-29-2020, 11:13 PM
5 Year Member
Sounds like the starter's pinion gear is having difficulty disengaging (starter hang). If the starter has been replaced (sounded good besides) a shim may have been left out or something. You can attempt to lubricate the pinion gear with graphite (only getting it on the pinion), or use a gear marking compound/equivalent to visibly check on engagement/interaction between the pinion gear and the teeth on the flywheel (manual trans) or flexplate (auto trans, respectively)
Cant advise too well on procedures because our engines/cars are not the same/from the same country, but you can identify the starter pretty easy. It's got big wires affixed to it, a long soda can like shape, and will be affixed to the engine on the side that mates with the transmission, poking into the "bell housing"..
​​​​

Old 10-30-2020, 01:27 AM
thanks for the reply Pyts! appreciate it.

i've been digging quite a lot lately and almost all said it's the starter.