2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Transmission return line?

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2020, 04:15 PM
Transmission return line?

Hi all. I have a 2012 Honda Fit.

I'm going to replace my ATF oil, and I am trying to figure out which is the transmission return line? I couldn't find a picture of it.

In this image I took, I think the left-circled line is the "hot line" (does anyone know what the technical term for that is?) and is the right line the return line?

Also, based off the "Noob ATF Drain/Fill + "flush" thread, what is the point of draining the ATF from one of these transmission lines? Is it just to get some of the old transmission fluid drained within the torque converter and such, which cannot drain from the removed drain bolt area?

I ask, because based off that thread we use around 6 quarts total, which seems like a lot, but I am a noob, so I wouldn't know. I figured maybe just letting the ATF drain from the removed drain bolt would be sufficient, like doing a regular oil change?

Moreover, I am going to replace the transmission filter as well, so is it best to replace it after doing the transmission line drain and refill?

Thank you very much!

Last edited by StGemma; 09-11-2020 at 05:53 PM.
Old 09-11-2020, 05:46 PM
Just a do a drain and fill from the transmission drain bolt. You will get about 2.5 qts drained and repeat when you feel necessary. I do a drain and refill every oil change just for piece of mind.

Old 09-11-2020, 05:51 PM
Good to know. It would still be nice to know the answer to my questions just so I can learn these things.

I forgot to mention that my Fit has around 78k miles, and I have no idea if the previous owner ever had the transmission oil drained, prior to me buying this at 37k miles. I am worried that slipping will start happening if I drain from the torque converter and such.

Old 09-11-2020, 10:36 PM