2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

No more broken fog lights; A permanent fix

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2020, 03:57 PM
No more broken fog lights; A permanent fix

Hey there, I'm pretty new to the Fit community, but have learned a lot from you all so far so shoutout to you guys! I got my Fit (09 Sport AT) just about 6 months ago with 47k miles on it, but much to my dismay, I have replaced 3 fog lights in that same time frame. I love the car for many reasons: it's fun to drive, it has plenty of cargo space to hold basically whatever I need, and it's fairly easy to work on! What's not to love? Unfortunately, the fog light design is what. I love the way they look, but basically every GE Fit Sport that I see (I see about 5-10 a day here in the Bay Area) has one or both of their fog lights broken. When I bought my car, it came with both OEM fog lights broken, so I replaced them with these https://www.carparts.com/fog-light/r...set-reph107519 which, as many of you may know, are not an exact fit in the fog light housing. With minimal modification to the housing I was able to fit these fog lights in, albeit they did not sit flush to the front of the housing. I also used Headlight armor to change the tint of my fog lights to yellow as well as protect them from further damage. About 3 months go by, when I realize that the headlight armor had failed and I had yet another broken fog light. This is when I got desperate. I reached out to Headlight armor and informed them of what happened, they told me all that they could do was sell me a discounted replacement tint and cover shipping (wasn't ecstatic about this, but I liked the way the yellow tint looked and still had one headlight with the tint on so I purchased the replacement. I purchased a new foglight and attached the replacement tint, but I knew this wasn't a good solution, so I decided to take the protection a step further: using the same mesh that I used for my lower grille mod