2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Interior Modifications Sub-Forum Threads discussing interior modifications for the 2nd generation GE8 Honda Fit

sub, HU, and amp advise.. PLEASE HELP! =]

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2009, 05:21 PM
sub, HU, and amp advise.. PLEASE HELP! =]

I'm new to car audio and the 09 fit sport is my first car.
i heard that the headunit was crap, but im just looking for a little more bass than the stock speakers have.
I'm looking to put a 6-10" sub in my car, and im just wondering if i HAVE to change the headunit, wiring tips, and what would i need to put a small woofer in my car. I'm looking to keep this as cheap as possible.

any feedback is appreciated.

Old 08-15-2009, 06:30 PM
to make it sound proper, yes. as far as a hu, go with whatever you like the layout on... and isn't s*** of course. I'd go with a jl amp and a premier sub but thats just me... wiring is easy... finding the right system is actually much harder

Old 08-15-2009, 10:38 PM
As mentioned above, the stock head unit is nothing good. The speakers are moderate, but the head unit has horribly noisy processing. Do you HAVE to change it out? Certainly not, and if you're trying to save money then not upgrading it is probably what you want to do. Upgrading it will cost at least $200.

Now if you just want to add a little bass, go onto Crutchfield.com and find a nice little 8 or 10 inch powered subwoofer. They'll cost you about $200 or more. You'll need an amp wire kit, probably $50 or so, and a line output converter, probably $20 or more. The Line output converter will tap into your factory stereo's speaker outputs and create an RCA output for your sub.