1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

New to the forums. How to get some extra GO out of my Jazz.

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2014, 07:55 AM
5 Year Member
New to the forums. How to get some extra GO out of my Jazz.

Hello everybody. As the title suggests I am new here. I am from Benoni South Africa and I am the happy owner of a 2007 1st gen Honda Jazz 1.4 (1.3 actually.) 5 speed manual with 142000km on the clock. I have the L13A1 I-DSI engine in my car.

Now for those of you who might own a Jazz/Fit with the same engine, I am sure you know the engine gets a bit wheezy in the high revs. I would like to know how I can get a moderate boost in performance with the least amount of money. (I am a student) Now I am a car enthusiast. I love performance cars, especially customised Japanese tuners. However I would not know where to start if I had to take apart parts and things. But I would love to learn. So I figured why not learn on my current car and give her a boost while I'm at it. So what can I do? If you want/need to know, my car just returned from a service yesterday so in that regard she is perfectly healthy!

Thanks guys in advance!

Old 03-06-2014, 03:49 AM
5 Year Member
Welcome, first off I'm guessing you've got a GD3 which is the facelift version. GD1's are the 1st gen

I wouldn't focus on getting any significant gains in terms of power from the i-dsi engine or even the L15A VTEC motor either. But all hope is not gone! Doing some simple 'breathing' mods will make the drive more entertaining and increase your fuel economy.

I've got a Mishimoto carbon fibre air intake if you're interested? R1500 and it's yours.
After that I'd do a de-cat exhaust and re-map and just leave the engine alone.

Focus on wheels, tyres and suspension for more worthwhile gains.

Old 03-06-2014, 10:16 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by gynosis