1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Any major maintenance for 100k Fit?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2012, 03:12 PM
5 Year Member
Any major maintenance for 100k Fit?

Hey guys,

I'm no mechanic and don't have tools to do things myself. I've always had my oil changed at the dealership and other car shops such as Jiffylube. The last major maintenance I had was when my car hit 50k (quite pricey). I havent had a major check-up yet, and I'm at about 110k. BUT I have been getting my oil changed at about every 3,000-5,000 miles. I was thinking about going into the dealership and have them do another maintenance check. So I have 2 Q's:

- 1) Do I need to get another major maintenance check at 110k, if I've been routinely getting oil changed and had no problems?

- 2) Is there any other maintenance check that is essential to keeping my Fit healthy and thriving for a long time?

All advice, thoughts and experience is welcomed.

thanks,
hondafitgow

Old 05-20-2012, 05:42 PM
You'll need new spark plugs and while you're at it, you might as well get new coil packs as well. You should also get all new fluids (coolant, trans fluid, oil).

Otherwise, you should be good to go. And no, you won't need a check at 110k if you do all that now.

Old 05-20-2012, 07:32 PM
5 Year Member
Replace spark plugs (every 105k miles, no go on coil packs (MSRP is 91.27 from a dealer, 66.81+shipping from Bernardi parts) those should only be replaced as necessary...

Have valves adjusted every 45k to 60k depend on driving habits

Engine coolant every 5 year/60k which ever first.

Brake fluid every 3 years/36k miles.

If auto trans, drain and fill every 5 years/60k miles then every 2.5 years/30k after.

Manual trans is 5 year/60k if I remember right.

Engine air filter and cabin air filter is once a year or 15k.

And inspect belts, brakes, boots, bushings for general wear and tear; replacing as necessary.