1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Check out this noise

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2011, 12:09 AM
5 Year Member
Check out this noise

Ive been working with Honda on this one, I am a tech at a dealer. This is my personal car and have had this odd clatter since about 10k miles, and has only gotten worse. It is definitely coming from the lower end, sounds like a loose wrist pin to me. However, the cylinder cancellation test yields nothing. Car has had a new head assembly for starters, as instructed by field tech that was at our shop. I will post more as I know...

Up top:
YouTube - M4H00392.MP4

Below car:
YouTube - TECHLINE 3108877

Compared to normal Fit out of used car inventory:
YouTube - M4H00394

Noise is not the normal injector/valve noise, listen carefully, it is the clattering or knocking heard over the rest.

Old 02-22-2011, 09:29 PM
tin
5 Year Member
Whoa, mine sounds just like that. The clicking tends to be louder when it's cold, and dies down a bit after it warms up. I think it started sounding like that after 15k (it's at 37k now), I asked about it at the dealer and they said they don't hear anything wrong. I also have this running water sound, it somethings sounds like a flush or bubbling, started maybe at 20k, they said they don't hear this either. I'm beginning to think they are either deaf or incompetent.

Old 02-22-2011, 11:10 PM
5 Year Member
That sounds like a rod knock to me...remember, this is s very small motor.

Old 02-22-2011, 11:20 PM
5 Year Member
It sounds like a connecting rod bearing to me too.... Unfortunately it is a sound I became familiar with at an early age and have heard way too many time over the years.

Old 02-23-2011, 03:26 AM
Supervillain
5 Year Member
i'm interested in what you find out because mine's been making this same noise for freaking forever.