1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

what is A Rocker Arm Actuator Control Circuit High on my obd?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 10:59 PM
what is A Rocker Arm Actuator Control Circuit High on my obd?

hi, i hope someone can help me about this error coming up on my obd scan. my obd is showing p2649 which "a rocker arm actuator control circuit high." i'm just wondering is if somebody having this problem too?

Old 04-29-2009, 11:03 PM
your Vtec is broken, your car operates on 3 valves per cylinder outside of Vtec, when it enters Vtec it basically actuates the rocker arm to run the 4th valve

Old 04-29-2009, 11:10 PM
my dealer told me it will cost me 93 bucks. i don't have much cash on me on the moment but is this a real concern? i drive my car mainly on the city. this is my first time owning a honda. and i don't really know much about vtec.

Old 04-29-2009, 11:49 PM
by the way, i'm the second owner to this car. when i changed its oil i found out that the oil is thick. not maintained well. and what do you mean the vtec is broken does it requires cleaning? or the ecu needs resetting?

Old 04-30-2009, 08:39 AM
Originally Posted by Darkstars
your Vtec is broken, your car operates on 3 valves per cylinder outside of Vtec, when it enters Vtec it basically actuates the rocker arm to run the 4th valve
I thought this was pretty clear....

The rocker actuator is what turns the 4th valve on and off (Vtec IS the 4th valve). If rocker arm actuator is not working that 4th valve is not working..... thus no Vtec.

Old 04-30-2009, 07:59 PM
thanks for clearing that up for me.

Old 05-01-2009, 08:49 AM
5 Year Member
It should be drivable, but I'd go light on the accelerator pedal and keep the revs below 2500~3000.

Old 05-01-2009, 02:58 PM
Originally Posted by JCLW
It should be drivable, but I'd go light on the accelerator pedal and keep the revs below 2500~3000.