1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Aftermarket Wheels with Stock Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2024, 02:47 PM
Cool Aftermarket Wheels with Stock Suspension

I'm in the market for aftermarket wheels, and it's my first time buying wheels that are not OEM spec, so please bear with me.

My 08 GD3 has stock suspension, and I'd like to keep it that way. I have no desire to track the car, but I do use it as a daily.

I've been looking for white wheels to go with my blaze metallic orange Fit. The options available to me in Ontario, Canada are somewhat limited compared to the States.

The wheels that I’ve been eyeing are the following:
- Konig Hexaforms, 15x7.5 +35
- Konig Dial Ins, 15x7 +35
- Avid1 AV8s, 15x6.5 +35
- Sparco FF1s, 15x7 +35
- OZ Racing Superturismo WRC, 15x6.5, +43

If I was in the States, I would love a set of Rota Slipstreams/Grids, but no US company that sells them ships to Canada.

Based on my research, it seems like a wheel width of 7.5” is as high as you can go without needing modifications to the suspension. Due to the increased width, 7.5” wheels are usually fitted on 205/50s, while 7” and 6.5” wheels fit on stock 195/55 tires.

I called a local tire and wheel shop yesterday to inquire about stock, pricing, etc., and they put a bit of fear in me by saying that the Hexaforms might be too aggressive for the car, and a camber adjustment and/or aftermarket coilovers might be required. The guy I was speaking to suggested something with a high, near OEM offset, but most of the options I've found (and all of the ones except the OZ Racing above) are +35.

I want to keep costs down as the car isn't getting any younger. I simply want white, ideally lightweight wheels that fit on a set of tires that I can slap on to the car without playing around with the suspension. I'm aware that the AV8s aren't much lighter than stock, and the Superturismos are actually heavier.